Equipment Comparison - New player's perspective

I have limited experience (30 to 50 hours each) playing a melee class and a caster class.

I understand they have significantly different gear requirements/preferences so I felt the need to figure out a weighting system to measure/compare them.

As a benchmark, I assumed the weights from this post on item rebalancing.

Let me think outloud, and you guys can correct me where I go astray.

Taking a birdseye perspective, lets say semi geared 50 caster would have -400 AC from gear, -40 combines saves (20 svs, 20 each save).

Similarly, a semi geared 50 melee would have -200 AC from gear, -20 combined saves (10 svs and 10 each save), and 40 HR&DR.

These are just numbers I am throwing out with only half a dozen hours at level cap getting some (basic but appropriate) gear.

How much budget do we need for -400 AC? 40 points. Fair enough, lets use this as benchmark

How much more do we need to gear our caster with saves? 20 svs = 50 points, 20 each of the others lets round it to another 50.

Caster gear budget for basic stats is 140 points, lets say (then you add skills, managain, HP/Mn/Mv/etc)

Now the same exercise for a melee...

How much budget do we need for 40 HR&DR? 40 points each, so 80 points. 

How much more do we need to gear our melee with saves? 10 svs = 25 points, 10 each of the others lets round it to another 25.

Adds up to 130. This is pretty balanced compared to the caster's 140, so all fine and dandy. Good work! Whoever came up with this system did a dark good job.

Little comment: svs should cost 2 (not 2.5) if save VS one is 0.75 (triple is 2.25) since specific gearing for a particular thing should be a little more expensive than generic gearing, IMHO.

Now my questions:

- Can I use these weights to help me decide (within reason) what item is better for my character? I mean... is it wise to do so?